What do I know about Potty Training?

When I originally decided that I wanted to write about potty training I kind of laughed at myself a little. So I can understand why some people might look at this and say how does she have any advice? She’s got one child trained and the other one still in diapers.

The truth of the matter is I have potty trained numerous children. I don’t have an exact number but I say at least 20, probably more!

Prior to becoming a mom, wife and business owner, I was a preschool teacher for many years. For one of those years I was the teacher of the two-year-old room. Many moms with children already in daycare know that one of the deciding factors whether or not your child goes to the three-year-old room is being potty trained.

I don’t recommend standing between a parent and their child’s chance to move to a more advanced classroom, so obviously everyone wanted their child ready! I quickly realized I needed to work with the parents of the children that were ready in order to have a cohesive and successful training environment.

During this time I created my own way of what works. Part of my technique is NOT having an exact way. Just some basic tips and signs that I try to follow and we have been very successful!

I wrote already about the signs and skills needed for potty training here.
I think this is where you should get started to see if you’re child is ready to begin the process.

Step one is making sure your child is ready! It’s not a good idea to start unless you child is really showing signs of readiness and eagerness to train. It’s vital they feel successful and confident while learning this new talent!

Once you decide they are “ready” it’s time to get dirty. Literally. 😳
Even the quickest & easiest trainers have accidents. So be prepared and be patient.

The good news is, if they truly are ready it will be over before you know it and you’ll be on your way to a diaper free house!

CoCo Signature Blog

Leave a Reply

