Bug Week: Ladybugs

It was ladybug day and I may have been more excited than the kids! 🙂
I have always really LOVED ladybugs. 
It’s kinda like God knew he should add a cute girly bug to make bugs a little tolerable. 😉
Ladybugs aside I was more excited for the food project. Ladybug CUPCAKES, SO Yummy!! 

Circle Time: The Very Lazy Ladybug 
By: Isobel Finn & Jack Tickle
Song: See the Ladybug
Jean Warren

(sung to “Frere Jacques”)

See the ladybug, see the ladybug. Watch it crawl, watch it crawl. See it crawling higher, See it crawling higher. Watch it crawl, up the wall.

See the ladybug, see the ladybug. Watch it crawl, watch it crawl. See it crawling lower,See it crawling lower.
Way down low, to my toe.
Art Project: Ladybug Prints
Supplies
  • Potato
  • Red Paint
  • Black Paint
  • White Paper
I cut a potato in half and had the kids dip and stamp red paint onto white paper.

After the paint dried (& my mom delivered the black paint.) using their thumbs the kids dotted the ladybug’s spots. I added legs and accents once it was dry!

Special Treat: Ladybug Cupcakes

I had the kids help me make red velvet cupcake mix. I separated the eggs and water so each child could add to the bowl. They loved being able to help. We read the recipe on the box and counted the correct amount of eggs! 

     

You should have heard them when we started stirring and the brown batter turned BRIGHT RED!!

They were amaazzed! I cooked the batter as mini and regular sized cupcakes. I try not to give the kids too many sweets so the minis were for them to try.

I used red food coloring and added it to the frosting. (note we no longer use additive food dyes in our food projects)

ATTENTION: Don’t attempt this to make red frosting. It turns pink. Whoops.
I had to decide how to make these red like ladybugs on the “fly”.
LUCKILY, I had red sprinkles. We were are able to frost in pink icing & then have the kids dip in red sprinkles..Add chocolate chips for spots!

After I added accents to them to really bring to life!
I packed each child a plate to take home. I think they were a big HIT! 

CoCo Signature Blog

Leave a Reply

